Dear Ray Ban,


image

For 2100 bucks, at the age of 21, you were one of my first biggest investments. And since then both of us have come a long way. At that time, I just wanted to replicate the Tom-Cruise-Top-Gun look. With time, the looks kept changing but you were always there, you became more than just a fashion accessory. You became my buddy.

Soon I realized the true powers of your jet black slightly convex lenses, they made my eyes invisible. They acted like a shield. With you, I had the powers of concealing my emotions. With a little bit of eye and neck movement training I could checkout any girl, ogle at her, at length, and she would have no clue what I was up to (sorry ladies, but that’s how 21-year-olds think).

By the time I was 23. I was on my own. Independent and Scared. Metropolitans are great, but initially they are a little tough to get used to. Especially, when your eyes reflect innocence and naivety. They say –“Hi, I’m new here and you can easily exploit me.” Well, that’s what happens when your face has round edges, when your hair are neatly combed to the left, and your eyes have a baby-like-curiosity. Then I took you out of your brown case and wore you whenever I was out. And as they say looks can be deceiving, now I looked mature, experienced and ready to take on the world, well that’s how bully autowallas, greedy shopkeepers, my landlord and many others started perceiving me. Thank you for saving my ass!

Then you did me the biggest favour, when I really needed it, when time was really tough, when I was really alone. There were moments in my life when stopping my tears was not in my control and they came out without any prior notification. In front of strangers, in public transport, in markets, in office, anywhere and everywhere. Thanks to your two-inch-long frame it was easy to control those two inches of initial tears. And behind those dark glasses I could hide my black tears (metaphorical, of course).

Thank you for not making me look vulnerable when I really was. Thank you for making me invisible when I just didn’t want to be seen. Thank you for all those admiring glances I got from the fairer sex because of the tuff-guy image that you gave me. Thank you for saving me from getting bullied. Thank you for saving my eyes from ultra violet rays, afterall that’s what you were supposed to do, initially.

Thank You,
Shreyans

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Dear Ray Ban,

  1. Bharti says:

    Wow, that’s a great post there!

Leave a Reply

